Get Your California Real Estate License Online
An online AUDIO course that allows you to get your license on-the-go
Limited Time Offer
What can you do with a California real estate salesperson license?
- According to the California real estate license requirements, as per the California Real Estate Law, the State requires you to have a real estate salesperson’s or broker’s license in order to sell or rent real estate in California.
- A real estate salesperson’s license will allow you to sell or lease/rent real estate anywhere in the State.
- A licensee can sell or lease any type of real estate (residential, commercial, etc).
- Real estate salespersons must work under a sponsoring broker.
How to Get Your California Real Estate Salesperson License?
California Real Estate License Requirements
General California Real Estate License Requirements
- Must be at least 18 years of age.
- Both California residents and non-residents can obtain a license. Click here to learn more about Out-of-State Applicants.
- Must be honest and truthful. Please note that the State requires an applicant to disclose any criminal violations or disciplinary action when applying for a license. For more information, see the following documents: Avoid Potential Denial of Your License Application and Application Eligibility Information.
- In order to apply for the California State real estate salesperson exam, you must first complete 135 hours of approved education (online or in-person), which are broken down into three, 45-hour courses.
Here is a list of the required courses and elective courses:
- Real Estate Principles – 45 hours (required)
- Real Estate Practice – 45 hours (required)
- One elective course – 45 hours
- Each course includes a final exam.
- After passing the final exam for each course, you will receive a Course Completion Certificate from the school, which you will later submit as part of your Exam application (see Step #2).
The California real estate license requirements also stipulate that before you can schedule your State exam, you must first apply for an exam date, time, and location.
Examination Schedule Notice:
- Once your Exam Application is received and processed (click here for current processing times), you will receive an Examination Schedule Notice from the BRE, which includes the location, date and time of your exam.
- The applicant has up to 2 years to take the State exam from the date the Exam Application is filed.
The California real estate license requirements stipulate that a student must pass the California Real Estate Salesperson Exam :
- The exam consists of 150 multiple-choice questions, with a passing grade of 70%.
- There is a 3 hour and 15 minutes time limit.
- If you take the exam in an electronic format, you will see your results immediately. If you take the exam in a written format, it may take up to 7 business days to see your results.
Complete your Salesperson License Application (if you did not previously submit the Combined Examination/License Application) and get fingerprinted.
- After passing the State exam, you will receive a Salesperson License Application.
- Get fingerprinted at a live scan fingerprint service provider. There is a $49 finger fingerprinting fee, which is paid to the live scan fingerprint service provider.
- Complete the application and mail back to the State (you have up to one year after passing the State exam to complete the application).
- Pay the $245 application fee (paid to the BRE).
- Once your application is received and approved, your salesperson license will be mailed to your sponsoring broker. If you do not have a sponsoring broker, your license will be mailed to you as a non-working status.
Congratulations, you satisfied the California real estate license requirements and now you are a licensed California real estate salesperson!
Get Your California Real Estate Salesperson License For Just $99
Limited Time Offer
General Information About the Course and California Real Estate License Requirements
The RealEstateU Online California Real Estate Salesperson Course Bundle Includes:
- Three (3) 45-hour Online Audio Courses, which satisfies the California real estate license requirements (135-hour education requirement):
- 45-hour Online Real Estate Principles Course
- 45-hour Online Real Estate Practice Course
- 45-hour Online Legal Aspects of Real Estate Course
- Each course includes a downloadable PDF workbook, downloadable infographics, downloadable supporting documents booklet, and a downloadable course glossary.
- Orientation chapter: each course starts with an orientation, which serves as an introduction to the course.
- 15 course chapters: each chapter includes a series of audio lectures
- Chapter quiz: each chapter ends with a 30 question, multiple choice quiz. You must answer at least 70% correct in order to pass.
- Course final exam: once you complete chapter 15, you will advance to the course final exam.
Course Final Exam
Each course final exam is taken online.
Each final exam consists of the following:
- 100 multiple choice questions
- You must answer at least 60 questions correctly (60%) in order to pass
- There is a 3 hour (180 minutes) time limit
- The exam is open book, which means you can use any textbook, your course notes, or the course glossary when taking the exam
- You must wait at least 18 days from the start date of the course before being able to access the course final exam. This is a State requirement.
- Once 18 days has passed, you will be able to access the final exam by entering in your full name, driver’s license or government issued ID number, email, and phone number into the course’s learning management system. This is a State requirement.
Required Course Completion Time
As per California real estate license requirements, a student cannot complete a course (including the final exam) within the following time frames:
1 course: 18 days
2 courses: 2 weeks
3 courses: 7-1/2 weeks
* You must complete all three courses within 12 months of purchasing the course bundle.
RealEstateU offers a 30 day refund period from the date of purchase. A refund will only be issued if the student has not completed more than 50% of the course bundle. A $20 admin fee will be charged on any refunds. Please feel free to read the Terms and Conditions.
CalBRE Disclaimer Statement
This course is approved for pre-license education credit by the California Bureau of Real Estate in full compliance with the California real estate license requirements. However, this approval does not constitute an endorsement of the views or opinions which are expressed by the course sponsor, instructors, authors, or lectures.
Online Evaluation Statement
A course and instructor evaluation is available on the California Bureau of Real Estate (CalBRE) website at www.calbre.ca.gov.
Access this form by typing in “RE 318A” in the search box located in the upper right corner of the home page.
An Easy and Affordable Way to Get Your California Real Estate Salesperson License
Limited Time Offer